Life Under the Apple Tree

Thinking Out Loud

There Is Another Sky

with 2 comments

I love poetry.

There is another sky

There is another sky,
Ever serene and fair,
And there is another sunshine,
Though it be darkness there;
Never mind faded forests, Austin,
Never mind silent fields –
Here is a little forest,
Whose leaf is ever green;
Here is a brighter garden,
Where not a frost has been;
In its unfading flowers
I hear the bright bee hum:
Prithee, my brother,
Into my garden come!

– Emily Dickinson

Written by cherapple

7 October, 2008 at 4:05 pm

Posted in Poetry

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Cherapple,

    Emily Dickinson is one of my favorite poets.

    This poem by her is one of my favorites:

    CHARTLESS

    I never saw a moor,
    I never saw the sea;
    Yet know I how the heather looks,
    And what a wave must be.

    I never spoke with God,
    Nor visited heaven;
    Yet certain am I of the spot
    As if the chart were given.
    ____________________________

    Even though I’m not certain there is a heaven – to me, the poem talks about having faith in something you can’t see and believing in something you’ve never seen. Many times, I have problems with that.

    I enjoy your blog!

    Sammie

    inthecards

    12 October, 2008 at 11:16 am

  2. Hi, Sammie.

    Nice to see you over here! Now you can see why I don’t post as much on my other blog sometimes. (Shhh. It’s a secret blog.) I might be busy with this one!

    I like Emily Dickinson, although I’ve never read her in great quantity. I usually like her poems when I come across them. 🙂

    cherapple

    12 October, 2008 at 6:18 pm


Leave a Reply

