Life Under the Apple Tree

Thinking Out Loud

Not-Back-to-School Lesson

with 3 comments

“The founding fathers in their wisdom decided that children were an unnatural strain on parents. So they provided jails called schools, equipped with tortures called education. School is where you go between when your parents can’t take you and industry can’t take you.” ~John Updike

Since Jessa didn’t have to go to school today, I thought she should have a lesson in what it feels like to have to go. This is how she spent her day:


Actually, I bought our dog Jewels (“the family Jewels”) a new crate yesterday, and Jessa has claimed it as her own. If you really want to be scarred, the boy of the house had to play, too:

[Oops. I’ve been censored!]

I’ve always wanted to put Scott in the dog house.

Written by cherapple

8 September, 2009 at 9:22 pm

Posted in Jessa, Just Fun, Quotes

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That cage definitely reminds me of my time in school, up until I reached college age.

    Zataod

    8 September, 2009 at 10:52 pm

  2. "College age" can happen much sooner if you're not stuck in grade school until 18. I'm hoping my kids will want to try taking a class or two at 15 or 16.

    cherapple

    9 September, 2009 at 12:08 am

  3. A friend and I started taking some college classes together when we were old enough to drive to a nearby small college. Luckily, no one told us that we couldn't.

    Zataod

    10 September, 2009 at 1:59 pm


Leave a Reply

