Life Under the Apple Tree

Thinking Out Loud

Creativity Is As Important As Literacy

with 2 comments

“Our task, regarding creativity, is to help children climb their own mountains, as high as possible.” ~Loris Malaguzzi

There is a story toward the end of this video — “Ken Robinson says schools kill creativity” — (which I can’t get to embed here) about a girl who struggled in school because she was an artist. It reminds me of Andrea’s experience. Very inspirational speech!

Written by cherapple

16 September, 2009 at 6:48 pm

Posted in Videos

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I've been reading your blog for a few days, and love it. I think we may have met, once, at Thacher Park (Paint Mines trail, maybe June 2008 or thereabouts….).

    We were just dipping out toes in the waters of unschooling, then, and didn't stay in touch with the families wemet that day. Since, we have evolved into full-fledged radical unschoolers, still near the beginning of our journey, but committed and joyful…

    Would love to reconnect with your group (I recognize Echo of the lovely red curls), as there isn't an unschooling group really close to me in Saratoga County…

    Please feel free to respond if you like, or check out our blog The Unfettered Life at http://www.memismommy.blogspot.com.

    At any rate, I will keep on reading and enjoying here! Thanks for posting!

    Shannon Dee

    19 September, 2009 at 1:08 am

  2. Hi, Shannon. I think I remember you, but I'm not sure. I'll see if I can put you in touch with the organizers of the groups I'm in. Thanks for reading, and I'll add you to my blog roll!

    cherapple

    20 September, 2009 at 2:01 pm


Leave a Reply

