Life Under the Apple Tree

Thinking Out Loud

Early Halloween Sewing

leave a comment »

“I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it.” ~ Pablo Picasso

IMG_1217

Jessa working on her costume

No amount of lecture will teach you how to do anything. You must do it. You must confront your fears, your lack of confidence, the discomfort of acting blindly, the feeling of not knowing, and be willing to make mistakes, or even fail. I like the unschooling belief that “there are no mis-takes. There are only learning-takes.” (I think that can be attributed to Kelly Lovejoy.) There is no such thing as doing something “wrong.” Just pick it up and try again. Even if you ask someone to show you how something is done, you still have to do it yourself at some point. Few skills have been so frustrating for me to “pick up” as sewing. After years of helping the girls make their Halloween costumes (or refusing to help because it frustrated me so), I think I’m beginning to feel a little more comfortable. Learning is doing… Or doing is learning. It works either way.

Written by cherapple

20 September, 2009 at 7:49 pm

Posted in Halloween, Jessa, Quotes

Leave a Reply

