Life Under the Apple Tree

Thinking Out Loud

Art Class #1: Kitten In Andrea’s Arms

leave a comment »

Art Class #1 sketch by me

Art Class #1: Sketch

New kitten in Andrea’s arms

“When you face your fear, most of the time you will discover that it was not really such a big threat after all.” ~Les Brown

Andrea’s kitten backed into her arms, frightened of our dog (who is almost as frightened of her!). She had probably never seen a dog before Jewels. Likewise, I was afraid to start drawing, and I’m afraid to keep drawing. Putting pencil to blank paper for the first time in a long time, in front of an art teacher, was not easy. What I most want to get from art classes is to “jump start” the artistic side of myself that I haven’t paid much attention to for over twenty years. I was an art major in high school, and the art teacher was disappointed that I did not continue into college. (I ended up studying English Lit. instead, an equally “useless” major!) I am now on a mission to face the fears that caused me to give up drawing.

Written by cherapple

3 October, 2009 at 10:25 am

Posted in Art, Cheryl, Pencil, Quotes

Leave a Reply

