Life Under the Apple Tree

Thinking Out Loud

AEDM Reflections: Beginning On the Spiral Path

with one comment

Wow, this is tough already! I’m dealing with all these feelings of “not having enough,” which is a constant inner struggle for me, in general, but doing something like Art Every Day Month brings it out in full force. (No wonder I’ve shoved my inner artist into the dark recesses for so many years.) I’m fighting feelings of not having enough of just about everything: Art supplies, room in my house to store them and use them, talent, time, patience, imagination, and just plain creativity. Yikes! Julia Cameron: “The Artist’s Way is a spiral path. You will circle through some of the issues over and over…. If this sounds like a lot of emotional tumult, it is.”

I did three works yesterday and wasn’t really happy with any of them. I used fluid acrylics, a picture, chalk pastels, a couple of quotes. I need: gesso, paintable glue, water soluble crayons, old magazines, a good lined journal, old hardcover books. I think my artist’s date for this week will be spent in a used book store searching for suitable hardcovers from which to create an altered book and found poetry.

Written by cherapple

2 November, 2009 at 10:06 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s interesting what comes up as we do this work isn’t it? But it’s so much better to know what’s keeping us from avoiding, so we can move through it.

    I loved that spiral metaphor in the Artist’s Way. It’s so true for me!

    leah

    5 November, 2009 at 11:37 pm


Leave a Reply

