Life Under the Apple Tree

Thinking Out Loud

AEDM Day 5: Leaf Pile

with 3 comments

jessleavesart

"Leaf Pile," watercolor pencil, unfinished

I’ve been successfully making art every day so far for Art Every Day Month, although I haven’t been posting every day because I’ve only been happy with some of it. (And I feel intimidated by much of the work of the other participants, only a little of which I’ve looked at because I haven’t wanted to discourage myself.) I only got this far on this drawing tonight before I began to feel too tired to finish. It took me half the night just to figure out what I wanted to draw. I’m already beginning to feel like I’m running out of ideas, and it’s only day five! I have my weekly art class tomorrow, however, and I’m hoping to get some inspiration there. My kids are obviously my favorite art subjects, and I’m learning that I much prefer drawing human faces and figures to inanimate objects. When it works, it’s like capturing a glimpse of a soul.

Written by cherapple

5 November, 2009 at 10:40 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. very very nice! Thank you for sharing this!!!

    coRa

    5 November, 2009 at 11:43 pm

  2. OMG! Intimidated. Are you kidding. This is beautiful! I love the expression on the face. There is such joy that you’ve captured. Can’t wait to see more.

    Sandy Coleman

    6 November, 2009 at 10:08 am

  3. Thank you! You both encourage me to share more often.

    cherapple

    8 November, 2009 at 3:14 pm


Leave a Reply

