Life Under the Apple Tree

Thinking Out Loud

AEDM Day 9: Art Journal Pages

with 3 comments

IMG_0070

Art Journal

Today I am feeling a little under the weather, so it was a perfect day for making art. I had all day to start nine pages for my art journal. It was nice to have something so absorbing to take my attention away from how awful I was feeling! Since I don’t have all the supplies that I need to make a handmade journal, and the blank journal that I bought isn’t adequate for painting on the pages and sticking things to them (the pages are too thin), I started with loose pages bound with rings. I’m still very much in the experimental stage (I suppose art is always somewhat experimental)! I wanted to see which types of paper that I had on hand would work best, and whether I liked a straight-watercolor wash, or a gesso wash, so that’s why the pages are all different sizes. I haven’t been able to find good pens for drawing on all surfaces yet. Sharpies work great on watercolor, but not on pastels. I really need a white pen, too, so until I find all those things, I’ll just have to make do with what I have. You can see the page that I’ve spent the most time on, but it’s by no means done.

I’ve been inspired by artist Teesha Moore, whose videos I discovered yesterday. I’ve been wanting to find some way to combine words and images in art, and she has a whole series of how-to videos showing her carefree journaling style, by which she creates such beautiful pages. Below is a short video with an example of one of her homemade journals.

Written by cherapple

9 November, 2009 at 10:39 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve been wanting to start an art journal but it’s a little intimidating – both for the time and the content. But you have given me the final push I need I think. Thanks!

    Susan Reep

    10 November, 2009 at 1:41 am

    • Hi, Susan. If you watch some of Teesha Moore’s how-to videos, she really makes art journaling a relaxing, stress-free exercise. She literally slaps things onto her pages and creates something beautiful out of a kind of intuitive chaos. Completely non-intimidating, until the end, at least, when she adds her beautiful penwork. But she is the one who gave me the push (because I needed it, too).

      cherapple

      10 November, 2009 at 9:56 am

  2. Thanks for the info. I’ve watched a few videos and they are going to help tremendously.

    Susan Reep

    10 November, 2009 at 2:32 pm


Leave a Reply

