Life Under the Apple Tree

Thinking Out Loud

AEDM Day 11: Vitruvian Man

with 2 comments

Vitruvian Man

"Vitruvian Man"

Today I thought I’d try my hand at the thirty-second figure drawings on posemaniacs.com. It was quite hilarious. Thirty seconds was not long enough. I needed at least sixty! I guess it gets easier the more you do it, but I was laughing at myself, the figures came out so funny. Sometimes I would give up and just start scribbling. This one reminded me of Leonardo da Vinci’s Vitruvian Man, so that’s what I did with it. I may try to make a Picasso out of one or two of the other ones. What a fun way to remind myself not to take my art too seriously. I may repeat this exercise nearly every day and see how much better I get by the end of AEDM.

“It had long since come to my attention that people of accomplishment rarely sat back and let things happen to them. They went out and happened to things.” ~Leonardo da Vinci

Written by cherapple

11 November, 2009 at 10:57 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. laughing while you make art is such a good thing!!!

    leah

    11 November, 2009 at 11:39 pm

  2. Yes, Leah! It’s amazing how art helps you appreciate the little things in life, focusing your attention on small, everyday joys, and even sometimes making you laugh!

    cherapple

    12 November, 2009 at 11:06 am


Leave a Reply

