Life Under the Apple Tree

Thinking Out Loud

AEDM Day 13: Manga Girl

with 5 comments

Girl Manga

"Manga Girl"

On the way home from work tonight, the sunset contained the most beautiful shades of blue and pink. I was inspired to try to paint it when I got home. I wasn’t happy with the way it came out, however — my kids say I’m never happy with my artwork (largely true!) — so I drew a manga cartoon instead. I really love drawing human characters and I need to do it more often. My sunset picture came out so blah that I decided to play with the colors in iPhoto and intensify them. Here are the results.

Sunset

"Sunset on the Drive Home"

My 10-year-old daughter, who has been doing AEDM with me nearly every day, wanted me to post the sunset picture that she painted tonight.

Jessa's sunset

"Sunset Over the Mountains," by Jessa

Written by cherapple

13 November, 2009 at 9:01 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love manga! The eyes are fascinating! Love your daughters sunset and your sunset. I’m never happy with my product but the process is so much FUN!

    tami

    13 November, 2009 at 10:19 pm

  2. You’re right, Tami. The process is so important, regardless of whether you are happy with the results every time. The act of simply focusing and trying to create something is good for the soul!

    cherapple

    14 November, 2009 at 9:57 am

  3. The sunsets look great, and experimenting with photoshop is fun too, I think.

    afteriris

    14 November, 2009 at 11:23 am

  4. Ah, I see you have a young art partner too! Isn’t it wonderful?? And what a wonderful painting she made. I like the enhanced colors on yours too, it may not be “as realistic” but it sure is pretty.

    Your manga girl is excellent. I have about 5 books on manga drawing here because it’s on my list of things I want to try, but I haven’t tried very hard yet. I’ve just doodled around, but I love the manga style. Great job!

    Lisa

    14 November, 2009 at 11:36 am

  5. I also have a 13-year-old daughter who is way more the artist than I am. I’m hoping she’ll let me post some of her recent work at some point. She shows me up all the time!

    What’s really wonderful is how all three of us are creating more art now that I’ve started doing it every day. I used to consider art something “educational” for the kids to do, as if it were just a school subject. When I paid for classes, I only enrolled the girls. I considered myself either beyond the school time of life, or not good enough — i.e., art was only for kids or professional artists. Of course, creating is important at all stages of life, and art can be fun and meaningful for anyone of any age. Creativity is a skill that never grows old.

    cherapple

    14 November, 2009 at 10:11 pm


Leave a Reply

