Life Under the Apple Tree

Thinking Out Loud

AEDM Day 19: Zentangle

with 11 comments

Zentangle

It’s been almost a week since I posted anything for AEDM. I’ve been busy — there was one day where I had no time to do any art — but mostly I’ve been blocked. I’ve doodled in my journal. I’ve watched other people doing art on YouTube. I’ve painted and thrown my work away. So it’s not as if I haven’t done anything art related. But I haven’t been productive in any way that I’ve wanted to share.

I have several pages gessoed, primed, and ready to go in my art journal, and I’m feeling inspired to paint. I’m loving layers. The pages never need to be done until I’m satisfied with them. I can gesso over them, rework them, and keep experimenting until I come up with something that I like. I basically consider these first journals to be my “junk journals,” where my first learning is happening and I’m free to make lots and lots of mistakes.

Last night I doodled this zentangle. I’ve had this page in my journal for a couple of weeks. It began as an experiment with making a background by squirting fluid acrylics directly onto watercolor paper. I stuck a quote to it and attempted to decoupage it to the front of my journal, but the cover was too glossy and it didn’t stick, so I glued it to an inside page instead. Sometimes part of the process involves doing things that don’t work, and just letting things sit until the mood strikes you to try something else with them.

“Art is not a making-oneself-understood but an urgent understanding-of-oneself. The closer you get in your most intimate and solitary contemplation or imagination (vision), the more has been achieved, even if no one else were to understand it.” ~Rainer Maria Rilke

Written by cherapple

20 November, 2009 at 9:16 am

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love that quote!!! And please don’t throw any more paintings away! No no. Just keep on keeping on!!!!

    xoxo,
    ja
    my blog http://julieannshahin.blogspot.com
    aedm

    Julie Ann Shahin

    20 November, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    • Thanks! Sometimes it’s freeing to know that I can throw something away if I don’t like it. It’s all a process of becoming more skilled with various materials and my own hands. Sometimes the process is more important than the product. If I don’t get too wrapped up in the success or failure of my creations, it’s easier to “keep on keeping on.”

      cherapple

      21 November, 2009 at 9:35 am

  2. i love how your zentangle came out!!

    and good for you for coming at your work from different angles even when you’re feeling frustrated with it. that can be hard to do!

    love that quote too.

    leah

    20 November, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    • This month has been a great lesson in perseverance! Not that I’ve thought of the possibility of quitting for more than a day or two, but usually the thought doesn’t cross my mind for a second without being kicked out!

      cherapple

      21 November, 2009 at 9:40 am

  3. Hi,

    Inspiring and beautiful!
    Thank you for sharing

    p.s.
    I first added comments on your previous blog by mistake.
    The reward is ok, but my comment was for this Zentangle.

    geni

    20 November, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    • Thank you, geni!

      cherapple

      21 November, 2009 at 9:40 am

  4. cheryl thanks…for sharing what we all go thru at times as an artist…the wonderful quote AND the delight that is zentangle!!

    elk

    21 November, 2009 at 9:23 am

    • Zentangle is the ultimate art as therapy, isn’t it?!

      cherapple

      21 November, 2009 at 9:37 am

  5. This makes me so excited!! I was sure the zentangle police would come get me because I didn’t follow (what I thought were) the zentangle rules and then I see what you made here and I am clapping and jumping up and down. A colorful zentangle with words, even. YAY!!! THANK YOU!

    Julie Jordan Scott

    21 November, 2009 at 11:17 am

    • Julie, sometimes not knowing all the “rules” is a good thing. I’m glad my “ignorance” has you so excited, (hehe)! I saw it and thought it looked like fun. There are no rules in art that aren’t meant to be broken. That’s part of the reason why I enjoy it so much.

      cherapple

      21 November, 2009 at 11:34 am

  6. I love your background and zentangle in white over it. Wonderful quote too. I think I need to copy that one down. Terrific page overall.

    Timaree (freebird)

    22 November, 2009 at 10:15 am


Leave a Reply

