Life Under the Apple Tree

Thinking Out Loud

AEDM Day 21: Easy-Peasy Art Journals

with 5 comments

Jessa’s Journal

My Journal

Yesterday Jessa (my ten-year-old daughter who has been doing AEDM with me) and I made these Easy Peasy Journals as instructed by Samantha Kira. They are made with manilla folders for extra thick paper, with the pages sewn in, which is something I’ve never done before. Now we have our very own hand-made journals that should hold up to paint, gesso, glue, sanding, and just about anything! What fun. Here’s the first instruction video (there are two):

Edit: I have just discovered a purpose for my new journal. I’m going to use it to explore the Soul Journaling prompts from Sarah Whitmire. You can find the original prompts at souljournaling.com. Sarah now tweets a prompt a day and you can follow her here: Soul Journaling Collage Potpourri: A Tweet A Day! So many ideas, so little time! (Thanks to Tammy at Bonsai Habits for sharing the prompts.)

Written by cherapple

22 November, 2009 at 9:46 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think it’s wonderful that you and your daughter are working on art together. It will have such a lasting impact on her life as she grows up. Your journals came out great.

    Timaree (freebird)

    22 November, 2009 at 10:10 am

  2. Timaree, that is my hope. Thank you.

    cherapple

    22 November, 2009 at 12:18 pm

  3. Fun easy journals— that can take paint! Thanks for sharing these.

    Christine Martell

    22 November, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    • I’ll let you know how they take paint. Probably not as well as good paper made especially for wet mediums, but definitely much better than thin sketch paper.

      cherapple

      23 November, 2009 at 11:20 am

  4. […] crazy about this cut-and-paste exercise from the Soul Journaling prompts, but I’m loving my handmade journal. The pages are really tough (“solid” is a good way to describe them), especially when […]


Leave a Reply

