Life Under the Apple Tree

Thinking Out Loud

AEDM Day 22: Sketch of Andrea

with 11 comments

Andrea, Thanksgiving 2006

Today I felt like sketching. I chose my usual inspiration — one of my children. This drawing comes from a picture taken of Andrea on Thanksgiving three years ago when she was ten. It doesn’t look exactly like her, but I’m not always concerned with exact likenesses when I draw my children, or people in general. I consider the person I’m trying to draw to be a jumping off point in an attempt to create a picture that looks like somebody. My aim is to capture a soul, a certain spark, or a glimpse of what it means to be human. I’m not sure I succeeded here, but I like it, and I’m happy that I’ve confronted my fears and attempted it.

I’ve avoided doing much sketching for AEDM because it scares me. It makes me feel naked and vulnerable to do it and to share it. I’ve been becoming more aware that it’s something that I need to do for precisely that reason. I’m even considering following AEDM with a sketch-a-day month in December. They say it takes three weeks to make a habit, and we’re three weeks into AEDM. I’m comfortable doing art every day when that terrified me in the beginning. Now I’d like to become comfortable with sketching.

Written by cherapple

22 November, 2009 at 9:09 pm

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love your sketch – I do not sketch – really have never had the desire – so when others do it I am truly in awe – I think it is wonderful – I have begun reading back on your month to catch all your days of AEDM – great projects and ideas – I love it!!
    Thanks for sharing it all –
    p.s. you have nothing to be scared of – your sketch is beautiful~!~

    ELLIE

    23 November, 2009 at 9:12 am

    • I think what scares me is partly that I dislike shading and don’t have the patience for it, which is why I often draw faces totally white! I’ll just have to continue to work on my simple line-drawing style! Thanks for checking out my blog.

      cherapple

      23 November, 2009 at 11:18 am

  2. The sketch is beautiful. This sketch has soul. I think when we face our fears and vulnerabilities we truly grow.

    susie

    23 November, 2009 at 9:28 am

    • Thank you, Susie. So true, and that’s the aim of my life right now: To face those pesky fears.

      cherapple

      23 November, 2009 at 11:15 am

  3. I like this sketch a lot. It’s simple and very effective. You did catch the spark!

    Lynn

    23 November, 2009 at 11:24 am

  4. Congratulations on facing your fears and doing what you love to do. And your daughters soul just shines out of the drawing. It’s very powerful and deep.

    Thank so much for sharing your drawing, your daughter and your creative process!!

    chris zydel

    23 November, 2009 at 11:36 am

  5. I love the sparseness of your line use. The personality really comes out here. And congrats on facing fear head-on.

    Sandy Coleman

    23 November, 2009 at 4:04 pm

  6. I am grateful you shared your sketch simply because it does scare you.. that is a very positive thing… to do what scares you.

    The sketch, by the way, is beautiful. Excellent work.

    Julie Jordan Scott

    23 November, 2009 at 4:14 pm

  7. Sketching is scary to me because I am terrible and don’t know much in the way of techniques. But you have talent. Even with just this basic sketch, she draws me in. Her eyes are so big and her smile so inviting, I feel like I could sit down next to her and talk for hours. Very nice job.

    Michelle Halpern

    23 November, 2009 at 5:05 pm

  8. I’m so glad you faced your fear, this is so pretty, I love her eyes.

    Julie

    23 November, 2009 at 6:18 pm


Leave a Reply

